A Long Walk to Water – Activities

The book, A Long Walk to Water, by Linda Sue Park, is one of the best books I’ve ever taught!  I teach this book to my seventh grade students and each year it gets better. You can check out my complete unit HERE!

foldable tn

I roughly follow the NYS Module for the book, but I have so many wonderful experiences to share.  Here is a BUNDLE of PRINTABLES for the unit.  water center

Here are some ideas to enhance this book and make it completely awesome!

  1.  Teach an author study about Linda Sue Park!  Check out my entire unit HERE!

 

2.  Take your students on a field trip to meet Linda Sue Park!!

 

3.  Create a timeline of the events in the novel.  Check out student work here:

 

4.  Personification!  Explore the figurative language in the book!persontn

 

5.  Create your own Walk for Water!  Raise money for Salva’s organization Water for South Sudan Inc.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

