“The Crossover” paired with Tupac Shakur and Jacqueline Woodson: 2 activities

“The Crossover” by Kwame Alexander is the newest, hippest book for middle school students! I’m creating a new unit from scratch this year.  So, Follow my TpT store for all the latest lesson plans!

These are two activities I use as a pre-reading accross play1tivity for “The Crossover” by Kwame Alexander, but could be used independently.

Activity 1:  “The Rose That Grew from Concrete”

This is an activity based from Tupac Shakur’s poem, “The Rose that Grew from Concrete”.  This in a three page printable handout with a complete key, a PowerPoint presentation, a ticket out the door and a writing prompt.

My seventh graders love when I include Tupac in lessons, so this is extremely popular.  It deals with the character trait of resiliency.  Which lead to the next activity.

Activity 2:  “Before Tupac and D Foster” by Jacqueline Woodson.

This is a four page printable, with complete key, which takes excerpts from the novel and poems of Tupac to make connections with “The Crossover”.  This lesson could be done as a prereading activity for “The Crossover” or independently as well.

 

Want to teach one of the hottest books for middle schoolers?   “The Crossover” by Kwame Alexander is it!  I have been teaching this book to my seventh graders this year and they LOVE IT!  Follow my TpT store for all the latest lessons!
I’m just starting to get all my lessons up on TpT.  There will be numerous sections included in this unit:
  •      Vocabuary – Tier II and Tier III lists
  •      Prereading Storyboards activity
  •      Prereading poetry and photographs
  •      Tupac Shakur and Jacqueline Woodson connection
  •      Novel pairing – The Playlist
  •      Writing journals focusing on character traits
  •      Nonfiction connections
  •      Inductive learning
  •      Chapter printables and activities
Try a free sample of vocabulary words for the popular novel, b7 by Kwame Alexander!  5 words, assessment example & ten slides!

tupac pre

Check back often or follow my TpT store to get all the latest lessons for this awesome novel.

Leave a comment